How is Critical Mass gluten free?
We introduced a handy little enzyme into the fermentation stage of Critical Mass, that would zap away all those pesky gluten particles (we call them our little Nanobots).
To ensure that it’s compliant with current laws and regulations, we had Critical Mass tested by an independent UKAS accredited lab, to ensure that our parts per million (ppm) sits below the legal requirement of 20 ppm (parts per million). We can confirm that Critical Mass was reported at <10ppm. Confusing stuff...but in human words, that means Critical Mass is officially classified as gluten free!
Can people with coeliac disease drink Critical Mass?
If you’re someone who suffers from coeliac disease, a severe allergy to cereals containing gluten or another condition where you must avoid gluten, you must decide whether it’s safe to drink a product that contains cereals containing gluten, even if they’re labelled as gluten free.
This beer, like most beers, is made up of 4 different ingredients – hops, yeast, malt & water, with one ingredients (malt) being a source of gluten. While our favourite little Nanobot enzymes help break down the gluten particles in Critical Mass, we cannot guarantee that the beer was made in a gluten free environment.
It’s entirely possible that this beer isn’t suitable for you, in the same way that someone who’s allergic to nuts would take care with products not produced in a nut-free environment.
We feel that we’ve been clear about the contents of the beer to the extent that you can make your own judgement and risk-taking call with regards to this. We’re confident that our labelling and approach matches with similar products in the market and with the requirements that we are obligated to fulfil.